Sentence

2010-12-23

This post might seem tainted with negativism. But in our modern age, negativism and realism are too often the same thing in the mind of the people. The content here is simply realism. We are satisfied with the entence, but it’s not over yet

photo: José Arturo Palacios Garza, Diario Repuesta

30 years… it is the sentence that Jose Palacios Garza got for the premeditated first degree murder, with aggravating circumstance, of Renee Wathelet. It is the maximum sentence for a qualified homicide in the Penal code of the state where the crime was perpetrated. The assassin declared he will appeal. He has until December 29 to do so at the Cancun court of second instance of. A large milestone is reached, but it’s not over yet.

It will have taken 462 days to reach this point, which is relatively fast in regards to the handling of such cases in Mexico. Several media, diplomatic and political interventions have been needed. The case file at the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Canada has more than 200 notes. It took than one full-time devoted year, 300 documents sent, including a good number of letters to diplomats and politicians. The financial costs can also be estimated: without including the losses of revenue and other indirect costs: to get this result, it will have cost more than 30.000$. We would like thank again all donators and the Victims fund of the Department of Justice Canada. This is a small glimpse of what was required, to date, to seek justice, theoretically a basic right in democratic countries like Canada and Mexico. Moreover, it is not finished yet.

Since the unsuccessful escape attempt by the assassin in October, there were several developments in the case. Our lawyer, César Enrique Garza Sampeiro died in the night of the 21 at October 22. On October 22, the Foreign affairs of Canada transmitted a diplomatic note to the Mexican authorities concerning the case (that is unrelated to the death of César Garza). Following the escape attempt, the American authorities accelerated the process of extraditing the assassin in regard to the murder of his own mother. The negotiations between the two countries are at presently ongoing. The neuropsychiatric examinations were filed at the beginning of November. The trial was started (expedited) at the end of the same month. In October, the prosecutor in charge of the case informed the Canadian authorities that it would take one to two years before a trial takes place.

The near 80 pages psychiatric exam was very revealing. The assassin is completely normal from a neurobiologic point of view. The diagnosis is clear; he has an antisocial personality disorder. It is thus not insane, nor psychotic and even less schizophrenic. He understands what it did, but the consequences of its actions do not inconvenience him to any extent. When he was asked that drives us: why? A rather vague answer was given: you know… things happen… the incident occured because of personal reasons. The other inmates reported he speaks about his actions openly, with great details and even laughter somtimes. From a comparative point of view of the levels of emotive attachment, when the murder of his mother is raised, he explodes in furious anger and refuses to speak about it.

The fight for justice has been carried out on two fronts since the beginning. Today, it is the main one that has, in part, been won; to have the assassin condemn to the maximum sentence. Secondly, to understand the why and gain answers to the questions rose by the verifiable and verified facts surrounding carnage. This second front is all the more relevant following the results of the two psychological examinations, the psychiatric exam, the two CAT Scans and the electroencephalogram which show without a doubt that the assassin is not clinically or criminally insane.

It is quite interesting to observe the way the Department of Foreign Affairs of Canada works. A good metaphor would be the has follow: you have a problem with your vehicle, once at a garage, if you do not know the exact part number that need repair, the mechanic will tell you that there’s nothing he can do. Here’s what illustrates at best the deaf dialogue with our own government during the last fifteen months. Although some bureaucrats of the department try to maximize their capacity to do a minimum, solutions do exist. Let us note these blockages are more imputable to the higher ranks of the hierarchy than the people with whom we deal directly whoes work is above reproach.

Persistence remains, up to now, a key success factor. The support of certain politicians largely helps too. Two elected officials really helped us, and still help us, to try to put a satisfactory end to this nightmare. Most of the diplomatic and political steps are due to the efforts of the Liberals, although all the opposition parties were contacted. On the other side, the quasi-regime in power remains mostly insensitive. Some seems to forget that it is about a murder, the most serious crime that can be perpetrated by an individual, not of a lost passport.

The will of the authorities, either Canadian or Mexican, of going at the bottom of the why is not approximate, it is non-existent. On the other hand, the will to waste time and to hope that all this will just disappear has the time flies by is of Olympic caliber. The answers are perhaps simple, but up to now, they’re still missing. Unless there is an improbable turn of event, the evidences, names, and the still pending questions will be presented on this site once the appeal procedures are completed.

Mourning is the process of acceptance of the loss of a love one. To have accepted its disappearance does not mean to stop fighting for justice. This distinction between the two can be slim, but is important. The two are lived in quite different ways. The experience showed us that unfortunately (or rather fortunately); only people that have lived such abominations really understand this construct. Empathy has its limitation; nothing can describe what one feels to see the blood of his family spread in this way.

In Canada, we are considered and labeled victims of crime. This term keeps a certain connotation of a weakened person. In Mexico, the label is much more appropriate, we are offended. The concept of offence underlies the need for an appropriate response, much more than that of victim which underlies the need to be treated in order to recover from its wounds. One should not exclude the other, but the dominant thought observed up to now seems more directed towards the victimization side of the situation. This is just wrong and weak.

There’s also those who did not believe we would get any kind of justice. The opinions of others in that direction did not influence the determination which still feeds, after 15 month, the will to have total justice. Although we start to cumulate victories, the battle is not finished yet. We were told by the political and media people involved in the case that we changed things. Some walls have fallen, for a time, for the Canadians who will have to live such a nightmare. To fight against governmental systems can seem lost in advance, but the only guarantee is the failure and that it is when nothing is done. It is the duty of the citizen to fight for his basic and fundamentals rights which are never are completely guaranteed. In adversity, some prefer kneeling down, as victims, others choose to die standing up, if necessary.

A big thank you to all who have supported and helped us.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

  • Share/Bookmark

Leave a Reply

Sentence

23-12-2010

Ce billet peut sembler teinter de négativisme, mais trop souvent négativisme et réalisme sont confondus. Le contenu est simplement réaliste. Nous sommes satisfaits de la sentence, mais ce n’est pas encore terminé.

photo: José Arturo Palacios Garza, Diario Repuesta

30 ans… c’est la sentence que devra théoriquement purger José Palacios Garza pour le meurtre au premier degré, prémédité, avec circonstance aggravante, de Renée Wathelet. Il s’agit de la peine maximale pour un homicide qualifié dans le Code pénal de l’état où a été perpétré le crime. L’assassin a fait part de sa volonté de faire appel, il a jusqu’au 29 décembre pour le faire à la cour de deuxième instance de Cancún. Une grosse étape de franchie, mais ce n’est pas encore terminé.

Il aura fallu 462 jours pour y arriver, ce qui est relativement rapide si on se fie aux historiques de cas au Mexique. Il aura fallu plusieurs interventions médiatiques, diplomatiques et politiques. Le dossier au Ministère des Affaires étrangères du Canada a plus de 200 notes. Plus d’une année consacrée à temps plein, 300 documents envoyés, incluant un bon nombre de lettres aux diplomates et politiciens. Un coût financier peut aussi être estimé : sans inclure les pertes de revenus et les coûts indirects, arriver à un tel résultat aura couté plus de 30 000$. Nos remercions à nouveau tout les donateurs et le programme d’aide du Ministère de la justice du Canada. Voilà un maigre aperçu de ce qu’a nécessité, à ce jour, la poursuite de la justice, qui est théoriquement un droit fondamental dans des pays démocratiques comme le Canada et le Mexique. De plus, ce n’est pas encore fini.

Depuis l’évasion ratée de l’assassin en octobre, il y a eu plusieurs développements. Entre autres, notre avocat, César Enrique Garza Sampeiro est mort dans la nuit du 21 au 22 octobre. Le 22 octobre, les Affaires étrangères du Canada ont fait parvenir une note diplomatique aux autorités mexicaines concernant le cas (sans lien avec la mort de César Garza). Suite à l’évasion ratée, les autorités américaines ont accéléré le processus d’extradition pour le meurtre de sa propre mère. Les négociations entre les deux pays sont présentement en cours. L’examen psychiatrique a été déposée au début novembre. Le procès a été déclenché (expédié) à la fin du même mois. En octobre, le procureur affecté au cas a informé les autorités canadiennes qu’il faudrait encore un à deux ans avant d’avoir un procès.

L’étude psychiatrique de près de 80 pages fut très révélatrice. L’assassin est totalement normal d’un point de vue neurobiologique. Le diagnostic est clair, il a un trouble de personnalité antisocial. Il n’est donc pas fou, ni psychotique et encore moins schizophrène. Il comprend ce qu’il a fait, mais les conséquences de ses actions ne l’incommodent pas outre mesure. Quand LA question qui nous ronge lui a été posée : pourquoi? Une réponse plutôt vague a été donnée : tu sais, ce sont des choses qui arrivent… l’incident s’est produit pour des raisons personnelles. Les autres détenus interrogés rapportent qu’il parle ouvertement de ses actes, avec moult détails, et même parfois des rires. D’un point de vue comparatif des niveaux d’attachement émotif, lorsque le meurtre de sa mère est soulevé, il explose de colère et refuse d’en parler.

Depuis le début, le combat pour la justice se mène sur deux fronts. Aujourd’hui, c’est le principal qui est en partie gagné; faire condamner l’assassin à la peine maximale. Le second est de comprendre pourquoi et avoir des réponses aux questions soulevées par les faits vérifiables et vérifiés entourant le carnage. Ce second front est d’autant plus pertinent en vue des résultats des deux études psychologiques, de l’étude psychiatrique, des deux CAT Scan et de l’électro-encéphalogramme qui démontrent hors de tous doutes que l’assassin n’est pas cliniquement, ou criminellement fou.

Il est aussi intéressant d’observer le fonctionnement du Ministère des Affaires étrangères du Canada. Une bonne métaphore serait la suivante : vous avez un problème avec votre véhicule, une fois au garage, si vous ne connaissez pas le numéro exact de la pièce à changer, le garagiste vous dira qu’il ne peut rien faire. Voilà ce qui illustre le mieux le dialogue de sourds avec notre propre gouvernement au cours des 15 derniers mois. Bien que certains bureaucrates du ministère semblent tenter de maximiser leur capacité à en faire un minimum, des avenues existent. Notons que ces blocages sont beaucoup plus imputables au haut de la hiérarchie plutôt qu’aux intervenants avec qui nous traitons directement qui font un travail au-delà de tout reproche.

La persistance reste, jusqu’ici, un facteur clé de succès. Le soutien de certains politiciens aide grandement aussi. Plus particulièrement deux élus nous ont aidés, et nous aident encore, pour arriver à clore ce cauchemar. Une grande partie des démarches diplomatiques et politiques est due aux efforts des Libéraux, bien que tous les partis d’opposition aient été contactés. De l’autre coté, le quasi-régime au pouvoir reste insensible, voir insultant par moment. On semble oublier qu’il s’agit d’un meurtre, le crime le plus grave pouvant être perpétré par un individu, pas d’un passeport perdu.

La volonté des autorités, autant canadiennes que mexicaines, d’aller au fond du pourquoi des choses n’est pas approximative, elle est inexistante. La volonté de gagner du temps et espérer que tout cela tombe dans l’oubli est par contre de calibre olympique. Les réponses sont peut-être simples, mais jusqu’ici, elles manquent à l’appel. À moins d’un revirement de situation peu probable, les évidences, les noms, et les questions encore sans réponse seront présentées sur ce site une fois les procédures pénale contre l’assassin terminées.

Le deuil est le processus d’acceptation de la perte d’un être cher. Avoir accepté sa disparition ne signifie pas d’arrêter de se battre pour que la justice soit faire. Cette distinction peut sembler mince, mais elle est importante. Ce sont deux processus vécus de manière bien différente. L’expérience nous a démontré que c’est un concept que malheureusement (ou plutôt heureusement), seuls les gens ayant vécu de telles abominations comprennent réellement. L’empathie a ses limites, rien ne peut décrire ce qu’on ressent de voir le sang de sa famille répandu sur le sol ainsi.

Au Canada, nous sommes définis comme victime de crime. Ce terme garde une certaine connotation d’affaibli. Au Mexique, le terme pour nous définir est beaucoup plus approprié, nous sommes des offensés. Le concept d’offense sous-tend la nécessité d’une réponse, beaucoup plus que celui de victime qui sous-tend le besoin d’être traité pour se remettre de ses blessures. Un ne devrait pas exclure l’autre, mais la pensée dominante observée jusqu’ici semble beaucoup plus orientée sur le côté de victime de la situation.

Il y a aussi ceux qui n’ont pas cru que nous obtiendrons justice. L’opinion des autres en ce sens n’a pas influé sur la détermination qui alimente encore, après 15 mois, la volonté d’avoir une justice totale. Bien que nous commencions à cumuler les victoires, la bataille n’est pas terminée. Il est de l’opinion des intervenants politiques et médiatiques impliqués dans le cas que nous avons fait changer les choses. Quelques murs sont abattus, pour un temps, pour les Canadiens qui auront à vivre un tel cauchemar. Se battre contre des systèmes gouvernementaux peut sembler perdu d’avance, mais la seule garantie est l’échec et ça c’est quand on ne fait rien. Il est du devoir du citoyen de faire valoir ses droits fondamentaux qui ne sont jamais totalement acquis. Dans l’adversité, certains préfèrent vivre à genoux, en victime, d’autres préfèrent mourir debout, s’il le faut.

Un gros merci à ceux qui y ont cru et qui nous ont supporté jusqu’ici.

Joyeux Noël et Bonne année!

  • Share/Bookmark

Laisser un commentaire