Psychology & Psychiatry

Chronology :

The general practitioner who examined Jose Palacios Garza the day of the assassination mentions in his report the possibility that the suspect may suffers from a schizoid personality disorder. The defense lawyer used this assumption as a basis to request, on October 9, an emergency psychological evaluation. Although the prosecutor could have blocked this request on the basis that the physician is not a psychiatrist and thus, cannot deliver psychiatric opinion, he let it go… every time he could.

Thereafter, judge, prosecutor and lawyers guaranteed us on several occasions it was impossible for the assassin to obtain such an evaluation. In Mexico, the prisoner has to pay for it. Since he was known as an orphan without resources, it made it impractical. Moreover, this was the only way that made it possible for assassin to possibly escape justice.

On October 23, the judge publicly declares on Tv Isla Mujeres that the assassin will get his evaluation. The judge clearly states that if recognized criminally insane, it can lead to pure and simple acquittal. Being back in Canada, it will take us several days before obtaining the answer to the very simple question: “who pays for this evaluation?” The answer is simple, the Mexican government. Just like in other countries, it is current practice to evaluate the health condition of a prisoner if there is a notable deterioration. A request for evaluation, under the terms of article 458 of the CPPQR, was made directly by prison staffs, justifying a financial intervention of the State. This opened Pandora’s Box. Without this request, the assassin could have been sentenced as soon as December 17, 2009.

Dissatisfied with the results of the evaluation, the defenses request a second one. This time, it will be a perito psychologico (expert in psychology) of its choice. Without surprise, this evaluation gives different conclusions, much more favorable to the theories put forward by them. This brings the need for a meeting between the two experts. If the experts are unable to get at a consensus on the diagnosis during this meeting, a third opinion, psychiatric this time, will be requested. If a consensus is reached, the phase of first instruction (lawsuit) is launched, in theory that is.

On January 27, the Human Rights Commission of Mexico (CDH) takes the defense of the assassin. The latter ask for, and obtain, an exam of the physical state of the assassin’s brain. More specifically, an axial tomography of brain (CAT Scan). If there is an inflammation of these lobes, he will be considered as having psychiatric problems.

This could have heavy consequences: from a reduction of the sentence by 2/3 to a suspension of the proceedings for an undetermined period, thus a technical acquittal. In the latter, the prisoner is sent to a civil psychiatric institution. An institution without units adapted for the detention of dangerous criminals. The process could begin again when he would be considered fit to stand trial, if he don’t escape of course. This would also suspend the extradition procedures, because Mexico cannot extradite a person who is under a legal process.

We did request the support from the various Mexican organizations for the defense human rights and for the defense of the women’s rights, without any success. In Canada… no one can help us either: our mother had the bad idea to go get murdered abroad.

On May 20, after three missed meetings, the two experts in psychology meets in front of the judge, the prosecutor, lawyers, and the defendant as prescribed in December. The axial tomography was carried out and came back negative (his brain is completely normal from a physical point of view). The experts agree and reach a unanimous verdict: the assassin does not have any psychiatric issues. He has an antisocial personality disorder. The judge asks however for a third opinion, psychiatric this time, to assess the level of dangerousness of the killer. This third examination was not carried out yet. Moreover, the case showed this can still be diverted to make it possible for the authorities to give a verdict of psychiatric disorder, with the consequences presented before. The same judge assured us that if the expert agreed, the case would go to the trial stage.

The legal definition of criminally insanity in Mexico was not assessed during the psychological evaluations. We made several requests to the prosecutor and the judge to request formally the opinion of the experts concerning this definition. Although they were more than justified, these requests were systematically dismissed.

On April 7, we agreed with the judge to keep the information concerning the procedures regarding the mental state of the killer confidential. On May 26, the judge went public to claim the exact opposite of the psychological results from the meeting of May 20. On May 30, our lawyer answered on our behalf in the local Medias Following this situation, we allow ourselves to publish here the information already disseminated in Mexico, in addition to some relevant details.

Psychological precision:

In Mexico, there was much confusion between schizoid personality disorder and schizophrenia. The first being a behavioral issue, and the second, a mental disease, two extremely different conditions. In his interview of May 26, 2010, the judge mentioned schizophrenia, again.

The conclusions of the most recent studies are clear. In the Schizophrenia Bulletin of the prestigious Oxford University, published on October 12, 2009, a meta-analysis reveals that there is one chance out of 14.3 million that a schizophrenic person kills a stranger. Generally, the victims are members of their family.

Usually, the condition of the murderer at the time of the killing includes confusion and amnesia because of his state of psychosis at the time to perpetrate its gesture. Let us recall that Jose Palacios Garza premeditated, out of any doubt, the murders of Laura Palacios, his mother, and of Renee Wathelet. The following facts are also to take into account:

In the case of Laura Palacios:

  • He bought the hammer a day before the murder.
  • He got the necessary chemical to burn his mother before the murder.
  • He fled the scene of crime.
  • He went to take a shower. He entered his apartment with clothes clean of blood, which implies that he probably had replacement clothes with him. It is credible to assume that to strike somebody on the cranium with more than ten blows with a hammer should leave some traces on the clothes.
  • He changed country in the hours following the carnage.
  • Once in Mexico, he immediately ceased using its bank cards and went “off the grid”.
  • He was aware his mother died since the “Mrs. Wathelet’s good friend” gave us this information which she obtained from his mouth. However, only the death of her, not the murder.
  • When his family went to the Isla Mujeres prison on February 26 and asked to meet him; he understood who they were; he refused to meet them and fell into a raging anger which lasted nearly one week.

In the case of Renee Wathelet:

  • Witnesses declared to have seen it in the habitation complex Fovisste at 7:30 a.m., then at 9 a.m. the morning of the murder.

  • He answered in a coherent and understandable way when people knocked on the door while he was stabbing his victim.
  • He took time to go to wash his hands and his knife before leaving the premises.
  • He fled the scene of crime.
  • He hid his knife at the sight of the police patrol.
  • He admitted to the arresting officers that he killed a woman and slit her throat.
  • When the media asked him why he killed her, he understood the question, therefore are gesture. He provided a plausible and coherent explanation.
  • During his psychological evaluations, several weeks later, he gave details omitted at the time of its deposition. These details are coherent with the evidences collected at the crime scene

These facts make it possible to establish solids foundations as for the comprehension of the illegality of its actions and the absence of the symptoms commonly observed during murder made by individuals really afflicted with mental disease or psychiatric affliction. Amnesia is completely absent. The two evaluations, mainly made up of standardized tests, reveal that the assassin is characterized by an antisocial personality disorder. This is typical for 60% to 85% (depending on the statistical sources) of the inmates.

The evaluations also reject that he could present any form of psychosis at the time to make his actions. The characteristics enumerated in these evaluations are sound with the characteristic of sociopath/psychopath. The PCL-R (psychopathy check list revised) test was not administered. The conclusions are however clear, he is a dangerous individual who will kill again if he feels the need to.

Since Jose Palacios Garza already had a criminal record in the United States, his family could convey the legal documents concerning him to the Mexican authorities. In these documents, an interesting point is present: “Mental illness… N”. Therefore, the American authorities whom had already apprehended and evaluated him came to the conclusion that he does not suffer from mental illness. These documents were translated into Spanish to be put into the murder case of Mrs. Wathelet. However, in this bulky court document which we obtained copy; we can clearly observe this particular item was conveniently omitted in the translation.

Jose Palacios Garza is a criminal with severe behavioral disorders. He doesn’t feel remorse and killing for him is not something abnormal. Although he does understand that it is a socially reprehensible action, he doesn’t have any trouble to resort to this kind of solution. The prison director described as extremely manipulative and intelligent.

Brain Imagery
The use of cerebral imagery, like CAT Scans (Computerized Axial Tomography) in a criminal cause like an homicide is still only a dream in the American, Canadian and European legal systems. However, in Mexico, the advance of neuropsychiatric science is so great that it is possible. At least, in the case of Canadian, sexual tourist, killed by a mentally ill orphan (sic). These techniques are still in experimental phase for the diagnosis of certain mental diseases. It is an emerging science which remains unable to give reliable and sufficient results, even more for a criminal cause.

After consulting with specialist in the field of cerebral imagery at the Concordia University in Montreal, we were told the inflammation of the temporal lobes is presently correlated, very slightly, with epilepsy. No consensus or valid scientific studies reports any another significant correlation between an inflammation of the temporal lobes and any other condition. Except on Isla Mujeres where this could have contributed to clear or at least, significantly reduce the sentence, of dangerous fugitive.

Only one case could be found of an attempt to use such technologies in sentencing phase of a homicide case. In this case, it was to avoid a capital punishment for a known psychopath. Instead of repeating the argumentative here, it is possible to learn the details and the medico-legal stand point on the medical center of the University of Chicago website.

Although in the case of Jose Palacios Garza this exam came back negative, such a blatant disregard should not be silenced.

Since the end of October, it’s the opinion of diplomat authorities, from countries other than Canada and Mexico, that only Canadian diplomatic pressures could stop this masquerade. The Canadian authorities initially denied this, and then asked for the source of this information and finally ended up indicating that the Canadian foreign policy does not allow such interventions. This became a constant through the case where by its inaction; the Canadian government implicitly supports the questionable actions of the Mexican authorities.

Legal Process »

  • Share/Bookmark

Leave a Reply

Psychologie & psychiatrie

Chronologie :

Le médecin généraliste qui examiné José Palacios Garza le jour de l’assassinat mentionne dans son rapport la possibilité que le suspect souffre de trouble de personnalité schizoïde. Ce constat a servi de base à la défense pour demander, le 9 octobre, une évaluation psychologique d’urgence du détenu. Bien que le procureur aurait pu émettre un refus à cette demande sur la base que le médecin n’est pas un psychiatre et ne peut donc donner d’avis psychiatrique, rien a été fait.

Par la suite, juge, procureur et avocat nous ont indiqué, à plusieurs reprises, qu’il était impossible que l’assassin obtienne une évaluation puisqu’au Mexique, c’est au détenu de payer et qu’il est orphelin et sans ressources. De plus, il s’agirait de la seule avenue pour permettre à l’assassin d’éventuellement échapper à la justice.

Le 23 octobre, la juge déclare publiquement sur Tv Isla Mujeres que l’assassin obtient son évaluation. Le juge spécifie aussi clairement que si reconnu criminellement fou, cela peut amener à un acquittement pur et simple de l’assassin. Étant de retour au Canada, il nous faudra plusieurs jours avant d’obtenir la réponse à la question toute simple : « qui paye cette évaluation? ». La réponse est simple, le gouvernement mexicain. Tout comme dans d’autres pays, il est d’usage d’évaluer l’état de santé d’un détenu s’il y a une détérioration notable. Une demande d’évaluation, en vertu de l’article 458 du CPPQR, a été faite directement par des membres du personnel de la prison, justifiant une intervention financière de l’État. Ceci permettra d’ouvrir une boite de pandore. Sans cette requête, l’assassin aurait pu être condamné dès le 17 décembre 2009.

La défense étant mécontente des résultats de l’évaluation, elle en demande alors une deuxième. Cette fois, ce sera un perito psychologico (expert en psychologie) de son choix. Sans surprise, cette évaluation donne des conclusions différentes, voire beaucoup plus favorables aux théories avancées par la défense. Ceci entraine la nécessité d’une rencontre entre les deux experts. Si à l’issue de cette rencontre ils ne sont pas en mesure d’arriver à un consensus sur le diagnostic, un troisième avis, psychiatrique cette fois, sera demandé. Dans le cas contraire, la phase de première instruction (procès) est lancée.

Le 27 janvier, la Commission des droits humains du Mexique (CDH) prend la défense de l’assassin. Ces derniers demandent, et obtiennent, un examen physique de l’état physique du cerveau de l’assassin. Il s’agit d’une tomographie axiale du cerveau (CAT Scan). Ceci a pour but d’examiner les lobes temporaux de l’individu. Si ces derniers sont enflés, il sera d’emblée considéré comme ayant des problèmes d’ordres psychiatriques.

Ceci peut avoir comme conséquences : un l’allègement des 2/3 de la sentence jusqu’à une suspension des procédures pour une durée indéterminée. Dans ce cas de figure, le prisonnier est envoyé dans une institution psychiatrique civile, sans unité de détention criminelle adaptée. Le procès pourrait reprendre lorsque son état serait jugé favorable, s’il ne s’est pas évadé bien sûr. Cela a aussi pour effet de suspendre les procédures d’extradition, car le Mexique ne peut extrader une personne qui est sous le coup de procédures juridique.

Notons aussi que des demandes de support aux différents organismes mexicains de défense des droits humains et défense des droits des femmes ont été faites, sans succès. Au Canada … on ne peut nous aider non plus : notre mère a eu la mauvaise idée d’aller se faire tuer à l’étranger.

Le 20 mai, après trois rencontres manquées, les deux experts en psychologie se présentent devant le juge, le procureur, les avocats, et l’accusé tels que prescrit à la fin de décembre. La tomographie axiale a aussi été réalisée et s’est révélée négative (donc, son cerveau est tout a fait normal d’un point de vue physique). Les experts s’entendent et remette un verdict unanime, l’assassin n’a aucun trouble psychiatrique, il souffre d’un trouble de personnalité antisocial. Le juge demande toutefois un troisième avis, psychiatrique, pour déterminer le niveau de dangerosité du tueur. Ce troisième examen n’a pas encore été réalisé. De plus, l’expérience démontre que ceci peut encore être détourné pour permettre aux autorités de rendre un verdict de trouble psychiatrique avec les conséquences présentées plus haut.

La définition légale d’un individu considéré comme criminellement fou au Mexique n’a pas été évaluée lors des évaluations psychologiques. Nous avons fait plusieurs demandes auprès du procureur et du juge pour solliciter l’avis des experts concernant cette définition. Ces demandes ont été systématiquement refusées sur différentes bases hautement houleuses.

Le 7 avril, nous nous sommes entendus avec le juge pour ne pas révéler publiquement les informations concernant l’avancement des procédures sur l’état mental du tueur. Le 26 mai, ce dernier s’est permis une sortie médiatique pour affirmer tout le contraire des résultats de la rencontre du 20 mai. Le 30 mai, notre avocat a répondu en notre nom dans les médias locaux. Suite à cette situation, nous nous permettons de publier ici les informations déjà diffusées au Mexique, en plus de quelques détails jugés pertinents.


Précision psychologique :

Au Mexique, il y a eu beaucoup de confusion entre le trouble de personnalité schizoïde et la schizophrénie. Le premier étant un trouble de la personnalité (comportement) et le deuxième une maladie mentale, deux sphères extrêmement différentes. Dans son entrevue du 26 mai 2010, le juge a de nouveau fait mention de schizophrénie.

Il est important de noter que les plus récentes études font état des conclusions suivantes : Dans le Schizophrenia Bulletin de la prestigieuse université d’Oxford publié le 12 Octobre 2009, il est mentionné qu’une méta-analyse révèle qu’il y a une chance sur 14,3 million qu’un schizophrène tue un étranger. Généralement, les victimes sont des membres de sa famille.

Habituellement, ces meurtres sont accompagnés de confusion et d’amnésie chez l’individu qui commet l’homicide, car il set en état de psychose au moment de perpétrer son geste. Rappelons que José Palacios Garza a prémédité, hors de tout doute, les meurtres de Laura Palacios, sa mère, et de Renée Wathelet. Les faits suivants sont aussi à prendre en compte :

Dans le cas de Laura Palacios :

  • Il a acheté le marteau la veille du meurtre.
  • Il s’est procuré le carburant nécessaire à l’incinération de sa mère avant de la tuer.
  • Il a fui la scène de crime.
  • Il est allé prendre une douche et est arrivé chez lui avec des vêtements ne présentant pas de trace de sang, ce qui implique qu’il avait probablement des vêtements de rechange. Il est possible de poser l’hypothèse que de frapper quelqu’un au crane à plus de dix reprises avec un marteau n’est pas sans laisser de trace sur ses vêtements.
  • Il a changé de pays dans les heures qui ont suivi le carnage.
  • Une fois au Mexique, il a immédiatement cessé d’utiliser ses cartes bancaires et est tombé « off the grid ».
  • Il était conscient de la mort de sa mère puisque la « bonne amie de Mme Wathelet » nous a donné cette information qu’elle a obtenue de sa bouche. Toutefois, seulement le décès, pas le meurtre.
  • Quand sa famille a demandé à le rencontrer le 26 février à la prison Isla Mujeres, il a compris qui ils étaient, a refusé de les rencontrer et est tombé dans une colère qui a duré près d’une semaine.

Dans le cas de Renée Wathelet :

  • Des témoins rapportent l’avoir vu dans le complexe d’habitation à 7:30, puis à 9:00 le matin du meurtre.
  • Il a répondu de manière cohérente et intelligible aux gens qui frappaient à la porte alors qu’il poignardait sauvagement sa victime.
  • Il a pris le temps d’aller laver ses mains et son couteau avant de sortir de l’appartement.
  • Il a fui la scène de crime.
  • Il a caché son couteau à la vue des policiers.
  • Il a admis d’emblée au policier qu’il a tué une femme et lui a tranché la gorge.
  • Quand les médias lui ont demandé pourquoi il a tué, il a compris la question, donc sont geste. Il a fourni une explication plausible et cohérente.
  • Lors de ses évaluations psychologiques, plusieurs semaines plus tard, il a fait part de détails omis lors de sa déposition. Ces détails sont cohérents avec les évidences amassées sur la scène de crime.

Ces faits permettent d’établir de solides fondations quant à la compréhension de l’illégalité de ses actions et l’absence des symptômes communément observés lors de meurtres commis par des individus réellement affligés de maladie mentale. L’amnésie est aussi totalement absente. Les deux évaluations, majoritairement composées de tests normalisés, révèlent que l’assassin est caractérisé par un trouble de personnalité antisocial. Ceci est typique pour 60% à 85% (dépendant des sources statistiques) de la population carcérale.

Les évaluations rejettent aussi qu’il ait pu présenter quelque forme de psychose que ce soit au moment de commettre son geste. Les caractéristiques énumérées dans ces dernières correspondent aux traits retrouvés chez les sociopathes/psychopathes. Le test du PCL-R (psychopathy check list revised) n’a pas été administré. Les conclusions sont toutefois claires, il s’agit d’un individu dangereux qui tuera encore s’il en ressent la nécessité.

Ayant un passé de petit criminel aux États-Unis, sa famille a pu acheminer les documents légaux à son égard aux autorités mexicaines. Dans ces documents, un point fort intéressant est présent : « Mental illness … N ». Donc, les autorités américaines qui l’ont déjà appréhendé et évalué sont venues à la conclusion que Jose Palacios Garza ne souffre pas de maladie mentale. Ces documents ont été traduits en espagnol pour être annexé au dossier du meurtre de Mme Wathelet. Toutefois, dans ce volumineux document de cour dont nous avons obtenu copie, ce point a commodément été omis dans la traduction.

Jose Palacios Garza est un criminel possédant des troubles de comportement sévères. Il n’éprouve aucun remord et pour lui tuer n’est pas quelque chose d’anormal. Il comprend que c’est un acte socialement répréhensible, mais n’éprouve pas de difficulté à recourir à cette action.

Imagerie du cerveau
L’utilisation d’imagerie cérébrale, telle le CAT Scan (Computerised axial tomography) dans une cause d’homicide n’est encore qu’un fantasme dans les systèmes légaux américains, canadiens et européens. Toutefois, au Mexique, l’avancement de la science neuropsychiatrique est tel que cela semble possible. Du moins, dans le cas d’une Canadienne, touriste sexuelle, tuée par un orphelin malade mental (sic). Ces techniques sont encore en phase expérimentale pour le diagnostic de certaines maladies mentales. C’est une science jeune qui reste incapable de donner des résultats fiables et suffisants dans une cause criminelle.

Après vérification auprès de spécialiste de l’imagerie cérébrale à l’Université Concordia à Montréal, l’inflammation des lobes temporaux est présentement corrélée que très faiblement avec l’épilepsie. Aucun consensus ou étude scientifique valable ne semble faire état d’autre corrélation significative quand à un lien entre une inflammation de lobes temporaux et d’autres troubles ou maladies. Sauf à Isla Mujeres où cela aurait pu contribuer à innocenter ou du moins, significativement réduire la sentence d’un fugitif dangereux.

Il n’y a qu’un seul cas qui a pu être recensé d’une tentative d’utilisation de telles technologies lors de la phase de sentence d’un procès pour homicide. Dans ce cas, c’était pour éviter une peine de mort à un psychopathe reconnu. Au lieu de répéter l’argumentaire ici, il est possible de prendre connaissance des détails et de l’argumentaire médico-légal sur le site du centre médical de l’université de Chicago.

Bien que cet examen cérébral dans le cas de José Palacios Garza en regard à l’assassinat de Mme Wathelet soit négatif, une situation aussi ahurissante ne doit être passée sous silence.

Déjà à la fin d’octobre, il était de l’avis d’autorités diplomatiques, de pays autres que le Canada et le Mexique, que seules des pressions diplomatiques canadiennes pourraient arrêter cette mascarade. Les autorités canadiennes nient d’abord, demandent ensuite la source de ces informations et finissent par indiquer que la politique étrangère canadienne ne permet pas de telles interventions. Ceci est devenu une constante à travers le cas où par son inaction, le gouvernement canadien cautionne implicitement les agissements déplacés des autorités mexicaines.

 

Processus juridique »

 

  • Share/Bookmark

Laisser un commentaire