Swiss cheese prison

2010-10-19

On October 15, the prison authorities of Isla Mujeres discovered a hole in the wall of the cell of Jose Palacios Garza, murderer of Renee Wathelet and his own mother, Laura Palacios. Imprisoned for nearly 13 month at the date of his failed escape, he decides to dig a hole in the wall of its cell with a fork. This is not without remembering the successful escape from the same prison by four individuals on August 24, 2009.

Although the authorities agree that the prison is ill equipped to keep a serial killer, they had guaranteed that extraordinary measures were taken to ensure its detention. It becomes obvious to see the size of the hole which it dug that these measures are only words. Although it is the country jail of the police station, the walls still in concrete.

The higher security prison of Cancun already accommodates the prisoners at the time of tropical storms and such, but officially there is no place for a prisoner like Palacios Garza on a more permanent basis. According to information coming from Isla Mujeres, it seems the personnel of the prison might sometime let Palacios Garza out to beat up other prisoners that need a little discipline. Would it have something to do with the death of Jose Andres Avelino Villegas?

The hole was discovered following the transfer of the prisoners to Cancun because of the tropical storm/hurricane Paula. Without this evacuation, it is credible to say that Palacios Garza would be free at this very moment.

Is this the desire of freedom or the need to kill again that drive this animal to want to leave its cage? The psychological evaluations are unanimous on the fact that it will kill again if he feels the necessity to. A few weeks from tourism high season and in never ending wait for the end of these procedures, it is normal to be questioned on the real safety of going on holiday over there and on the will of the Mexican authorities to serve justice. This event in, addition to the systematic refusal to make a real investigation into the circumstances and evidences surrounding the murder, are good indicators of the true will to serve justice.

For a second time since the murder, there was a change of judge on Isla Mujeres. The prosecutor assigned to the case does not occupy the position anymore. The director of public security changed for third time.

As it is the case since the beginning of this nightmare. and in the vast majority of the cases of Canadian having troubles abroad, the Department for Foreign Affairs and its diplomatic and consular bodies do nothing. Although Canada just wiped its first defeat at the U.N., it doesn’t seem to truly worry anyone in the general populous in regard to the quality of its foreign affairs.

In the “Ottawa Citizen” of October 12 , an article exposes, once more, the incapacity of the current government to give even minimal support to the individuals and families meeting of the difficulties abroad.

Since the only real pressures come from the families, it is normal that the government looks elsewhere; it is not problems that concern the general population. The widely spread indifference contributes largely to this, in addition to the economic signals like multitude of Canadian tourists in going to these countries despite the warnings. The traditional democracy and the economic neo-democracy speak out loud.

  • Share/Bookmark

Leave a Reply

Prison fromage suisse

19-10-2010

Le 15 octobre dernier, les autorités de la prison d’Isla Mujeres découvrent un trou dans le mur de la cellule de José Palacios Garza, meurtrier de Renée Wathelet et de sa propre mère, Laura Palacios. Incarcéré depuis près de 13 mois à la date de sa tentative d’évasion, il décide de creuser un trou dans le mur de sa cellule avec une fourchette. Ceci n’est pas sans rappeler l’évasion réussie de la même prison par quatre individus le 24 août 2009.

Bien que les autorités acquiescent que la prison est mal outillée pour garder un tueur multiple, elles avaient garanti que des mesures extraordinaires aient été prises pour assurer sa détention. Il devient évident à voir la taille du trou qu’il a creusé que ces mesures ne sont que des paroles. Bien que ce soit une prison d’un poste de police de campagne, les murs sont tout de même en béton.

La prison, plus sécuritaire, de Cancun accueille déjà les détenus lors des tempêtes tropicales, mais il n’y a officiellement pas de place pour un détenu du calibre de Palacios Garza sur une base plus permanente. D’après les informations en provenance de l’île, il semblerait que le personnel de la prison sortirait le prisonnier pour battre d’autres détenus quand ils ont besoin d’un peu de discipline. Aurait-il quelque chose à voir avec la mort de José Andres Avelino Villegas?

Le trou a été découvert suite au transfert des prisonniers vers Cancun à l’arrivée de la tempête tropicale/ouragan Paula. Sans cette évacuation, il serait crédible de supposer qu’à cette heure, Palacios Garza serait libre.

Est-ce l’envie de liberté ou la nécessité de tuer à nouveau qui pousse cet animal à vouloir sortir de sa cage? Les évaluations psychologiques sont unanimes sur le fait qu’il tuera encore, s’il en ressent le besoin. À quelques semaines de la haute saison touristique et dans l’interminable attente de la fin de ces procédures, il est normal de se questionner sur la sécurité réelle d’aller en vacances là-bas et sur la volonté des autorités mexicaines à servir la justice. Cet événement en plus du refus systématique de faire une réelle enquête sur les circonstances et évidences entourant le meurtre sont de bons indicateurs de cette volonté.

Pour une deuxième fois depuis le meurtre, il y a eu un changement de juge à Isla Mujeres. Le procureur assigné n’occupe plus son poste. Le directeur de la sécurité publique a changé pour une troisième fois.

Comme c’est le cas depuis le début de ce cauchemar, et dans la majorité des cas de canadiens ayant des problèmes à l’étranger, le ministère des Affaires étrangères et ses organes diplomatiques et consulaires ne font rien. Bien que le Canada ait récemment essuyé sa première défaite à l’ONU, cela ne semble pas inquiéter outre mesure en égard à la qualité des affaires étrangères.

Dans le « Ottawa Citizen » du 12 octobre dernier, un nouvel article exposant, une fois de plus, l’incapacité du gouvernement actuel à donner un soutien même minimal aux individus et familles rencontrant des difficultés à l’étranger.

Comme les seules vrais pressions proviennent des familles, il est normal que le gouvernement regarde ailleurs, ce n’est pas une problématique qui touche la population. L’indifférence générale y contribue grandement, en plus des signaux économiques telle l’affluence de touristes canadiens dans ces pays malgré tout. La démocratie traditionnelle et la néo-démocratie économique parlent d’eux même.

  • Share/Bookmark

Laisser un commentaire