Justice in Isla Mujeres accumulates blunders

2010-07-17

In the past two months, law enforcement officials in charge of protecting Isla Mujeres population have blatantly demonstrated that some of them are real criminals with a police badge: Police Officers in uniform robbing gasoline, a robber robbed by agents, and mainly, the murder a man in custody in the Island’s prison.

José Andres Avelino Villegas, 42, husband, father of four and employee of the city hall, was arrested for public disturbance and drunkenness on June 14, 2010. He was brought to the small jail at 4:08 p.m. At 4:30 p.m., was allegedly found hanged to death in the preventive incarceration area. His wife was informed of the situation in the following hour.

We spoke with the family of the deceased. They saw the body at the morgue and claimed there were no indications of hanging on the neck…but, the body was covered in bruises. It doesn’t require an advanced medical degree to understand what really happened.

To add insult to injury, when the family asked for explanation, they got a typical Mexican justice scenario. To sum it up, at first he would have used a rope, something that usually doesn’t belong in a prison cell. The explanation then switched to the use of his non-existing paréo and, finally, he would have used his t-shirt to hang himself.

Avelino Villegas never showed any suicidal signs or behavior. It can also be argued that the probabilities of someone killing himself twenty minutes after being brought to prison, for public disturbance and drunkenness, in the end of the afternoon, are pretty slim. Finally, it should be duly noted that he was handcuffed to prison bars, by prison guards, upon his arrival.

The family asks for answers, but the local authorities would rather protect dangerous officers than showing they respect and protect the citizens they were hired to protect. The “suicide” version stay the official version. Although the media reported the family is receiving legal and financial supports, the family is still unable to get answers and clean their name. What they live, and are still living, is a tad too familiar.

Gas price also seems to be inconvenient to the police force. In May, four officers have allegedly robbed gas directly from a tank truck, for the purpose of resell. Two of them were in uniform and are the only one being charged with the crime. Details are available here, here and here.

On July 9, a robber is arrested. He claims officers then robbed him from part of his haul. The Judicial Police confirm this by bringing back the stolen goods given to them by the faulty officers. For the complete story, click: here.

These are only the incidents reported by the local Medias. Some of the stories that can be heard on the subject on the island, can be staggering. Police brutality happens everywhere, what is the most worrying is the frequency and the complicity of the hierarchy, which are notorious in Mexico. Factors like low wages, lack of standard and professional framework are cited to explain this situation. This would remain as an internal problem if it didn’t overflow on tourists and foreigners.

On one side, there’s the cartels, on the other, a Mafiosi police force, and in between, criminals who only waits for tourist to fill their pockets or give into darker activities. Quintana Roo stays the Mexican capital of Rape and his in the lead for assaults, robbery and murders.

  • Share/Bookmark

Leave a Reply

La justice à Isla Mujeres accumule les bévues

17-07-2010

Au cours des deux derniers mois, les officiels chargés de protéger les citoyens d’Isla Mujeres ont démontré grossièrement que certains sont réellement des bandits avec un badge de police : Des agents en uniforme dérobant de l’essence, un voleur volé par des agents de la paix et principalement, le meurtre d’un père de famille dans la prison de l’île.

José Andres Avelino Villegas, 42 ans, mari et père de quatre enfants et employé de la mairie, a été arrêté pour insolence et ébriété publique le 14 juin 2010. Il est amené à la prison de Isla Mujeres à 16:08. À 16:30, il aurait été retrouvé pendu dans la zone de détention préventive. Sa femme est prévenue dans l’heure qui suit.

La famille du défunt, à qui nous avons parlé, on pu voir la dépouille à la morgue. Cette dernière ne portait aucune trace au cou qui indiquerait une mort par pendaison. Par contre, la multitude de coups reçus ne demandait pas une grande connaissance médicale pour comprendre ce qui s’est passé.

Pour couronner le tout, lorsque la famille a demandé des explications, elle a eu droit à un typique scénario de justice mexicaine. En résumé, d’abord il se serait pendu avec une corde, chose peu probable dans une prison; ensuite ça aurait été avec un paréo et finalement avec son t-shirt.

Avelino Villegas n’a jamais montré de comportements ou de signes suicidaires. Il est aussi très peu probable qu’une personne arrêtée pour ébriété en fin d’après-midi se donne la mort vingt minutes après avoir été amené en prison. Notons finalement qu’à son arrivé dans la prison, les gardiens l’ont menotté aux barreaux d’une cellule.

La famille demande des réponses, mais les autorités locales préfèrent protéger des agents qui pourraient avoir battu un détenu à mort plutôt que démontrer qu’ils sont capables de respecter les citoyens, qu’ils sont sensés protéger. La version du suicide reste la version officielle. Bien que les médias prétendent que la famille reçoit un support économique et légal dans cette histoire, cette dernière ne réussit pas à avoir de réponses à ses questions. Ce qu’ils ont vécu et vivent encore ne nous est que trop familier.

Le prix du pétrole semble aussi incommoder certains corps policiers puisqu’en mai, quatre agents auraient dérobé de l’essence directement d’une citerne pour ensuite la revendre. Toutefois, seulement deux agents qui étaient en uniforme lors du crime seront inculpés et mis en prison. Les détails sont disponibles ici, ici et ici.

Le 9 juillet, un individu est arrêté pour vol. Il prétend que les agents l’ont volé d’une partie de son butin. La police judiciaire confirme que ce qu’il dit est vrai et ramène une partie de ces biens remis par lesdits agents quelques jours plus tard. Pour l’histoire complète, cliquez ici.

Bien entendu, il ne s’agit que des incidents rapportés dans les médias et les histoires qui courent sur le sujet à l’île peuvent étonner. Les bavures policières arrivent partout, toutefois la fréquence et la complicité de la hiérarchie sont notoires au Mexique. Certains facteurs, comme les faibles salaires et la non-professionnalisation de la profession, sont évoqués pour expliquer la situation. Ceci resterait un problème interne si cela ne débordait pas sur les touristes.

D’un coté, il y a les cartels, de l’autre une mafia policière et entre les deux, les criminels qui n’attendent que des touristes pour se remplir les poches ou se livrer à d’obscures activités. Quintana Roo reste la capitale mexicaine du viol et est en tête de pelotons pour les agressions, les vols et les meurtres.

  • Share/Bookmark

Laisser un commentaire