FAQs

Why this website?
We launch this site 9 months day for day, hour for hour, minute for minute, after the assassination of Renee Wathelet. After 9 months of difficulties, strewn with small victories and incredible turns of event, after 9 months of trying to find diplomatic solutions, after 9 months of being asked questions from people who want to know what’s happening, it became obvious that the best solution was website.

Why a launch on endirectdesiles.com and its Twitter account?
The post she published on her blog is one of, if not the last thing which she did in the minutes before her life was savagely taken. The Web 2.0 was a passion for her. Many people continued to write comments on her blog and to add her on Twitter. Death in the virtual world is still something new. We did what seemed to be the most judicious in the circumstances.

Is this only a website or also a blog?
The blog portion of the site will be used for major updates of the case and its ramifications.

The website doesn’t only address the case of Renee Wathelet?
Indeed, it seemed important to share the vast quantity of information gathered which makes it possible to put this odious crime and its continuations in context. Much of this information surprised us enormously, so we feel it’s our duty to share it. A site as this one would have surely been very useful to us in the days and weeks following the crime. Unfortunately, the question is not if, but when does another Canadian will die in such a horrific way. It was also difficult to overlook the fact the assassin of Mrs. Wathelet killed his own mother. We did restrain ourselves, for now, about previous arrest of the assassin on Isla Mujeres between the two murders and other unbelievable facts.

Do you claim that Mexico wishes to “choke” this case to safeguard tourism?
Yes and not. We report what has been criticized for some time by the Canadians victims of crimes in Mexico and also what have been said by Mexican officials. In view of the difficulties encountered to obtain justice in a case that seemed pretty straight forward to solve in the beginning, in view of the past cases, and the opinion of our lawyers, it has become clear and this is the most plausible explanation.

When reading the whole case, things seem on the right track?
We are somewhat satisfied of the achievement so far. However, the reading of the case also reveals that nothing is ever a certainty in Mexican legal system. Elements are in already place for a sudden reversal of the situation. It would not be the first time in this case. As long as the assassin will not have had his sentence, nothing is sure.

Do you wish to frighten with the Canadians and Canadian compared to Mexico?
Absolutely not. If our experience down there as well as the information presented here makes it possible for the travelers to make a reasoned decision and to be even more vigilant for their vacations, it would already be a good thing. If the Mexican authorities set up satisfactory, honest and respectful measures to safeguard one of its primary industries, it would be even better.

You mention the Canadian authorities on several occasions?
Yes, however, we should specify that this relates more directly to the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade as well as the Canadian foreign policy. The work of the consular agencies is heavily handicapped by this famous, policy. The consular agencies also lack the resources to enable them to offer a service equivalent to the other countries of G8. However, maybe it’s not a priority of the federal government either. Unfortunately, as the department already tried to throw the blame on the consular agency, it is important to note that the latter did a work beyond reproach and went to the limits of what they could do for us. If a democratic government, an institution of the people, by the people, for the people, is doesn’t care anymore of the people and his interests, for whom does it really exist?

What do you want?
That justice and the democracy are respected, that these principles do not stay only in the realms of Utopias, but instead are observable and tangible practices. The ultimate goal is simple, to obtain justice and truth. Secondly, to inform and expose the reality of Canadian citizen victims of crimes in a foreign land, in this case, Mexico. After 9 months of fighting, it became clear that we will not attain these objectives alone. What can be done at the moment, how you can help, is explained at the bottom of the about page.

  • Share/Bookmark

Leave a Reply

Foire aux questions

Pourquoi ce site
Nous lançons ce site 9 mois jour pour jour, heure pour heure, minute pour minute, après l’assassinat de Renée Wathelet. Après 9 mois de difficultés, parsemés de petites victoires et de revirement incroyables, après 9 mois à avoir essayé de trouver des solutions diplomatiques, après 9 mois à recevoir des questions des gens à savoir ce qu’il se passe, il est devenu clair que la meilleure solution est un site Internet.

Pourquoi un lancement sur endirectdesiles.com et son compte Twitter?
Le billet publié sur son blogue est une dernière chose qu’elle ait faite dans les minutes avant de se faire arracher à la vie. Le Web 2.0 était une passion pour elle. Bien des gens continuaient d’écrire des commentaires sur son blogue, et l’ajouter sur Twitter. La mort dans la sphère virtuelle est encore quelque chose de nouveau. Nous avons fait ce qui nous semblait le plus judicieux dans les circonstances.

Est-ce seulement un site ou aussi un blogue?
La portion blogue sera utilisée pour les mises à jour majeures du cas et ses ramifications.

Le site ne parle pas que du cas de Renée Wathelet?
En effet, il semble important de partager la vaste quantité d’informations amassée qui permet de mettre ce crime odieux et ses suites en contexte. Beaucoup de ces informations nous ayant énormément surprises, il est donc de notre devoir de les partager. Un site comme celui-ci nous aurait surement été très utile dans les jours suivant le drame. Malheureusement, la question n’est pas à savoir si, mais quand est-ce qu’une autre Canadienne ou Canadien disparaitra ainsi. Il est aussi difficile de passer sous silence que l’assassin de Mme Wathelet a tué sa propre mère.

Affirmez-vous que le Mexique souhaite étouffer l’affaire pour sauvegarder le tourisme?
Oui et non. Nous rapportons ce qui est décrié depuis quelque temps par les Canadiens qui sont victimes de crimes au Mexique. Nous rapportons aussi ce qui est dit par des officiels Mexicains. Devant les difficultés rencontrées à obtenir la justice dans un cas qui semblait somme tout très simple à régler, en vue de ce qui a été rapporté dans le passé, et de l’avis de notre avocat, cela est devenu l’explication la plus plausible.

À la lecture du cas, les choses semblent sur la bonne voie?
Nous sommes en partie satisfaits du chemin accompli jusqu’ici. Toutefois, la lecture du cas révèle aussi qu’il n’y a jamais rien de certain. Des éléments sont en déjà place pour un revirement soudain de la situation. Ce ne serait pas la première fois dans ce cas. Tant que l’assassin n’aura pas eu sa sentence, rien n’est sur.

Souhaitez-vous faire peur aux Canadiens et Canadiennes en regard du Mexique?
Absolument pas. Si notre expérience là-bas ainsi que les informations diffusées ici permettent aux voyageurs de prendre une décision raisonnée et d’être encore plus vigilants pour leurs vacances, tant mieux. Si les autorités mexicaines mettent en place des mesures satisfaisantes, honnêtes et respectueuses pour sauvegarder une de ses industries primaires, c’est encore mieux.

Vous mentionnez à plusieurs reprises les autorités canadiennes?
Oui, il faudrait cependant préciser que cela concerne plus directement le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international ainsi que la politique étrangère canadienne. Le travail des agences consulaires est lourdement handicapé par cette fameuse politique. Les agences consulaires manquent aussi de ressources pour leur permettre d’offrir un service équivalent aux autres pays du G8. Toutefois, cela n’est peut-être pas une priorité du gouvernement fédéral non plus. Malheureusement, comme le ministère a déjà tenté de jeter le blâme sur l’agence consulaire, il est important de préciser que cette dernière a fait un travail au-delà de tout reproche et a été aux limites de ce qu’il lui était possible de faire pour nous. Si un gouvernement démocratique, une institution du peuple, par le peuple, pour le peuple, ne se préoccupe plus du peuple et de ses intérêts, pour qui existe-t-il vraiment?

Que désirez-vous?
Que la justice et la démocratie soient respectées. Que ces principes ne soient pas que des utopies, mais des pratiques observables et concrètes. Le but ultime est simple, obtenir justice et vérité. Dans un deuxième temps, informer et mettre en lumière les aspects moins radieux de la réalité des citoyens canadiens victimes de crime à l’étranger. Dans ce cas-ci, au Mexique. Après 9 mois de combats, il devient évident que nous n’arriverons pas à ces objectifs seuls. Ce qui peu être fait pour le moment est exposé au bas de la page à propos.

 

  • Share/Bookmark

Laisser un commentaire