Lost evidences

The evidences found on a crime scene make it possible for the (qualified) authorities to reconstruct the crime and especially, to put forward irrefutable proof as for the culpability of an individual and his actions. Some of these elements can also verify or weaken the collected testimonies.

On September 19, 2009, at the time of our arrival in Mexico, the Canadian consular agent in Cancún gave us a list of the evidence collected by the Mexican authorities. When the crime scene was reopened on September 21, her computer and webcam are given back to us. The very same day, we carry out the cleaning of the premises which was under our responsibility. On September 22 mornings, we enter the apartment. Several objects were missing and were not on the list given to the Canadian consular authorities. Our mother’s friends who were with us indicate that the police, more specifically the Judiciales, went out of the apartment with bags fully filled during the closing of the crime scene on the previous Thursday.

We contact the Canadian consular agent to validate this information; it seems that it is common practice in Mexico for the authorities to take belongings from the dead. Therefore, if somebody enters on your property to steal from you and kills you instead, the police will make sure to finish the job. On recommendation of the Canada consular agent in Cancún, we went to make a deposition for the disappearance of these belongings. Although we can pour a pretty heavy amount of money to get them back, the consul recommends to us not to take part in the corruption system. Moreover, they explain to us that if nobody denounces these practices, things will never change. The aim is not to recover these things, but simply to denounce these malpractices.

The next day, we go to the Ministerio Publico for the deposition. Two witnesses came with us. After a short introduction about the reasons of our visit, the person on duty that morning asks us to wait. After a little more than an hour, he returns and gives us the Mexican cell phone and the compact digital camera of our mother. He informs us that these devices were in Cancún for investigation. He also mentions that the memory card of the camera was cleared because it contained evidences.

He also tries to justify the absence of these devices on these lists, because there was blood on them. Somewhat impossible since the crime took place in another room of the apartment than the office where they were found. He agrees. He then tries to play the receipt game to prove the existence of these objects. That is also typical in Mexico; do not forget to travel with the original receipt of all the goods you bring. After some negotiation, we succeed in making a deposition in due form. An investigation will be open in addition to the one concerning the sale of photographs of the crime scene by law enforcement officers.

When the, still soaked in coagulated blood, jewels and glasses were given back to us, the person in charge informs us that he cannot give us the dental prostheses taken on of Mrs. Wathelet body. They are kept in evidences at the Poder Judicial of Isla Mujeres.

In the following days, we checked the hard drive bay of the laptop. The seals of the bay and disc drawer were all were broken, which means that the hard drive was extracted and probably cloned by the authorities for later analysis. That is coherent with the declaration made to us by the authorities.

Although the authorities claim they have investigated these evidences, it seemed normal to double check the work. We then discovered several disconcerting information on the few devices which did not disappear. This was one of the starting points of the private investigation. It will have taken 5 months to make these evidences entered to the court files, being systematically ridged with the unwillingness and/or the ignorance of certain legal procedures by certain officials in function and with, what looked like, bureaucratic indifference on behalf other higher authorities. Certain evidences were finally officially investigated, 5 months after the crime.

Witnesses close to the reselling network on the island said to have seen our mother’s iPhone. The “salesman” mentioned that it the devices previously own by the “Canadiense”. To prove it, he showed photographs taken with the device at the time of Mrs. Wathelet autopsy. This device may also contain crucial evidences to the case, but that, we might never know.

Some also speculate that Mrs. Wathelet’s prosthetic dentistry was kept for recycling and resale. During your next trip to Isla Mujeres or Cancún, instead of playing at “Where is Charlie”, you will be able to play “Where is Renee’s smile”.

On April 4, 2010, the oldest son of Mrs. Wathelet was still in Isla Mujeres. By mere chance, he meets the colleague of Violeta who was also on the crime scene. He gave its version of the facts which corroborates those given by the other witnesses. He also gives certain details which were not in the police report; he crossed path with the assassin in the staircases when he went to apartment number 8, he heard everything, and saw face to face with the assassin in its escape. The only weird thing is he was never summoned to testify. The authorities considered its testimony useless. His name does not even appear in the report.

All this is done in plain sights and knowledge of the Canadian authorities. They supposedly cannot do anything, citing the restrictions imposed by the Canadian foreign policy. Although the RCMP already took part in investigations of Canadian killed in Mexico, in our case, it would be necessary for them to be officially invited by the local authorities. Good luck…

 

Private Investigation »

 

  • Share/Bookmark

Leave a Reply

Évidences perdues

Les évidences trouvées sur une scène de crime permettent aux autorités (compétente) de reconstruire le crime et surtout, mettre de l’avant des preuves irréfutables quant à la culpabilité d’un individu et de ses actions. Certains de ces éléments peuvent aussi confirmer ou infirmer les témoignages recueillis.

Lors de notre arrivée au Mexique le 19 septembre, l’agente consulaire du Canada en poste à Cancún nous fait état de la liste que les autorités mexicaines lui a remis. Lors de la réouverture de l’appartement le 21 septembre, son ordinateur portable et sa webcam nous sont remis. Le jour même, nous procédons au nettoyage des lieux qui est sous notre responsabilité. Le 22 septembre au matin, nous entrons dans l’appartement. Plusieurs objets sont manquants et ne sont pas sur la liste remise aux autorités consulaires canadiennes. Les amis de notre mère qui sont avec nous indiquent que les policiers, plus spécifiquement les Judiciales, sont repartis avec des sacs remplis lors de la fermeture de la scène de crime le jeudi précédent.

Nous contactons l’agente consulaire pour valider ces informations, il semble qu’il soit d’usage au Mexique pour les autorités de se servir chez les morts. Donc, si quelqu’un entre chez vous pour vous voler et vous tue, la police s’assurera de finir le travail initial. Sur recommandation de l’agente consulaire du Canada en poste à Cancún, nous allons faire une déposition pour la disparition de ces objets. Bien que nous puissions verser une rondelette somme pour les récupérer, on nous recommande de ne pas participer au système de corruption. De plus, on nous indique que si personne ne dénonce ces pratiques, les choses ne changeront jamais. Le but n’étant donc pas de récupérer des bien, mais simplement dénoncés.

Le lendemain, nous nous rendons donc au Ministerio Publico pour la déposition. Deux témoins nous accompagnent. Après une courte introduction sur les raisons de notre visite, la personne en poste ce matin-là nous demande d’attendre. Au bout d’un peu plus une heure, il revient et nous remet deux appareils de notre mère. Il nous informe qu’ils étaient à Cancún pour enquête. Il indique aussi que la carte mémoire de la caméra a été effacée pour des raisons d’enquêtes.

Il tente aussi de justifier l’absence de ces appareils sur ces listes, car il y avait du sang dessus. Chose impossible puisque le crime a eu lieu dans une autre pièce que le bureau où ils se trouvaient. Il acquiesce. Il tente ensuite de jouer la carte des factures pour prouver l’existence de ces objets. Cela est aussi typique au Mexique, n’oubliez pas de voyager avec les factures originales de tous les biens que vous amenez. Après négociation, nous réussissons à faire une déposition en bonne et due forme. Une enquête sera ouverte en plus de celle concernant la vente des photos de la scène de crime par des agents de la paix.

À la remise des bijoux et lunette (toujours ensanglantés) qu’elle portait sur elle au moment du meurtre, le responsable nous informe qu’il ne peut nous remettre les prothèses dentaires prélevées sur la dépouille de Mme Wathelet et gardées en évidences au Poder Judicial de Isla Mujeres.

Dans les jours suivants, nous vérifions la baie de disque dur de l’ordinateur portable. Les sceaux des vis de la baie et du tiroir du disque ont tous été brisés, ce qui signifie que le disque dur a été extrait et fort probablement cloné par les autorités pour analyse ultérieure. Cela est cohérent avec les propos tenus par les autorités.

Bien que les autorités ont indiqué avoir enquêté ces évidences, il semblait être de notre de devoir de vérifier le travail. Nous découvrons plusieurs évidences troublantes sur les quelques appareils qui n’ont pas disparu. Ceci fut un des points de départ de l’enquête privée. Il aura fallu 5 mois pour faire entrer ces évidences au dossier, se buttant systématiquement à la mauvaise volonté et/ou la méconnaissance de certaines procédures juridiques d’officiels en fonction et à un semblant d’indifférence bureaucratique de la part de leurs supérieur. Certaines évidences ont finalement été formellement expertisées, 5 mois après le drame.

Des témoins proches du réseau de recel sur l’île ont affirmé avoir vu le iPhone de notre mère. Le vendeur leur a indiqué qu’il s’agissait de l’appareil de la « Canadiense » et pour le prouver, il a montré des photos prises avec cet appareil lors de l’autopsie de Mme Wathelet. Cet appareil peut aussi contenir des évidences cruciales pour reconstruire des éléments du cas, mais cela nous ne le saurons jamais.

Certains spéculent aussi que les prothèses dentaires de Mme Wathelet ont été gardées pour revente et recyclage. Lors de votre prochain passage à Isla Mujeres ou Cancún, au lieu de jouer à « où est Charlie », vous pourrez jouer à « où est le sourire de Renée ».

Le 4 avril 2010, le fils ainé de Mme Wathelet est encore à Isla Mujeres. Par pur hasard, il rencontre le collègue de Violeta qui était sur la scène de crime. Ce dernier lui donne sa version des faits qui corrobore celle donnée par les autres témoins. Il donne aussi certaines précisions qui ne sont pas dans le rapport d’enquête; il a croisé l’assassin dans les escaliers quand ce dernier se dirigeait vers l’appartement numéro 8, il a tout entendu, et est tombé face à face avec l’assassin en fuite. Le seul hic est qu’il n’a jamais été sommé à témoigner, car la police jugeait son témoignage inutile. Son nom n’apparait même pas dans les rapports.

Tout ceci est fait aux vues et en connaissances des autorités canadiennes qui ne peuvent soi-disant rien faire, citant les restrictions imposées par la politique étrangère canadienne. Bien que la GRC ait déjà participé à des enquêtes de Canadiens tués au Mexique, dans notre cas, il faudrait que les autorités locales les invitent officiellement. Bonne chance…

 

Enquête »

 

  • Share/Bookmark

Laisser un commentaire