About

Mexico, Canada, murder & diplomacy

On September 17, 2009, shortly after 9:35 a.m., a young man answering to the name of Jose Arturo Palacios Garza slammed the door of apartment 8, building D from Fovissste condo complex. The screams for assistance, of terror and anguish of the tenant resound. Some neighbors contact the police; others go to the door and try to comprehend what’s going on.

The medical examiner determines the time of death at 9:45 a.m. Shortly after 9:50, Palacios Garza is apprehended by police officers.

At the beginning of afternoon, the news arrives to Canada, the country where the late one resided before going, in March 2009, to live her dream of living full time in Isla Mujeres near Cancún in Mexico. Shortly after 2 p.m. on that day, our lives were going to change forever, but we didn’t know it then. This lady is our mother, Renee Wathelet.

That not being enough, near the end of November, the news reaches us: the assassin is also wanted in Houston, Texas, for the murder of Laura Palacios, his own mother. He killed her on August 3, 2009.

One of the purposes of this website is to bring to light the darker side of this country, maintained in the abyss of discretion and denial, visited by more than one million Canadians each year. Also, to highlight what it is to be a Canadian or foreign victim of crime abroad, as well as a victim of Mexico.

At the present time, it is impossible for us to publicly reveal a considerable amount of information and evidence since the procedures are still pending. However, the already broadcasted and authorized elements are presented. When the times come, everything will be known…

Some details can be pretty shocking. Unfortunately, it is reality and to disguise it only is choosing a strategy of the ostrich. Such a strategy can only ensure the repetition of similar nightmares.

All we want is for the justice of Mexico to be respected, that the required investigations are made satisfactorily and the truth be known. The assassination already exceeds any understanding. Reading theses pages also shows the disproportion and horror of the inhumanity human beings are able to carry under the cover of the bureaucracy and politics.

Finally, we are aware that murders occur everywhere. Criticizing crime is not our objective, but denouncing how Canadians and other foreigners are treated when facing the aftermath of such crimes in Mexico is.


Support

To act or help, the main thing is to condemn the situation to your federal Member of Parliament (MP) and the Canadian Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, the honorable Lawrence Canon. Expressing your concern to the Mexican embassy in Ottawa is also a good step. Donations to support the family in this fight are also largely appreciated.

We would like to thanks Justin Trudeau for his support.

 


To learn more on Renée, visit her blog, Endirectdesiles.com.

 

Situation in Mexico »

 

  • Share/Bookmark

Leave a Reply

À propos…

Mexique, Canada, meurtre, justice et diplomatie

Le 17 septembre 2009, peu après 9:35, un jeune homme répondant au nom de José Arturo Palacios Garza claque la porte de l’appartement 8 du complexe d’habitation Fovissste, immeuble D. Les cris à l’aide, de terreur et d’agonie de la locataire retentissent. Des voisins contactent la police, d’autres vont voir à la porte et tentent de comprendre ce qu’il se passe.

Le médecin légiste détermine l’heure du décès à 9:45. Peu après 9:50, Palacios Garza est appréhendé par les forces de l’ordre.

En début d’après-midi, la nouvelle arrive au Canada, pays où la défunte résidait avant d’aller vivre son rêve en mars 2009 à Isla Mujeres, au large de Cancún au Mexique. Peu après 14h, ce jour-là, nos vies allaient changer à jamais, mais nous ne le savions pas encore. Cette dame, c’est notre mère, Renée Wathelet.

Cela n’étant pas encore suffisant, fin novembre, la nouvelle se répand. L’assassin est aussi recherché à Houston au Texas pour le meurtre de Laura Palacios, sa propre mère, commis le 3 août 2009.

Ce site a pour but de mettre en lumière le côté obscure, maintenu dans les méandres de la discrétion et du déni, de ce pays visité par plus d’un million de Canadiens chaque année. Également, mettre en relief ce qu’implique être un citoyen canadien victime de crime à l’étranger, ainsi que d’être un étranger, victime du Mexique.

À ce stade, il nous est impossible de dévoiler publiquement une quantité non négligeable d’informations et faits recueillis puisque les procédures sont toujours en cours. Toutefois, les éléments déjà publics et/ou autorisés, sont présentés. À terme, tout sera publié…

Des détails pouvant être choquants sont présents. Malheureusement, c’est la réalité et la travestir ne revient qu’à choisir une stratégie de l’autruche qui favorisera la répétition de cauchemar similaire.

Nous demandons seulement que la justice du pays soit respectée. Que les enquêtes appropriées soient complétées de manière satisfaisante. Que la vérité soit connue. Bien que l’assassinat dépasse déjà l’entendement, la lecture du reste des pages de ce site montre la démesure et l’horreur de l’inhumanité dont les êtres humains sont capables sous le couvert de la bureaucratie et du politique.

Finalement, nous sommes conscients que des meurtres peuvent se produire partout, dénoncer un crime n’est pas un objectif, dénoncer comment un crime est traité pour des Canadiens au Mexique en est un.


Support

Pour agir/aider, le principal est de dénoncer la situation auprès de votre député fédéral et auprès du ministre des Affaires étrangère, l’honorable Lawrence Cannon. Écrire à l’ambassade du Mexique à Ottawa est aussi une autre voie. Les dons pour supporter la famille dans ce combat sont aussi grandement appréciés.

Nous remercions Justin Trudeau pour son support.

 


Pour en savoir plus sur Renée, visitez son blogue, En direct des iles.

 

Situation au Mexique »

  • Share/Bookmark

Laisser un commentaire