3 years…

2012-09-17

Three years ago today, Renee Wathelet was murdered in her condo in Isla Mujeres near Cancun, Mexico. A particularly brutal and barbaric murder.

The proceedings of the case are now stricken with a publication ban by the Mexican authorities. Even the family can’t have access to the documents related to the appeal of the assassin. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs informed the family of the judicial decisions, but nothing can be confirmed in a formal manner. This also violates the family’s rights in regard to Mexican laws. Although the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT) ensures that its priority is that the family is treated as Mexican nationals, when this is not the case, nothing is done.

Since Renée Wathelet’s assassin sentencing in December 2010, the family have been unable tspeak to anyone regarding this case in the Mexican judicial system to ensure proper follow-up. Canadian consular officials have faced the same issues when they have tried to provide a proper follow-up, but did got a bit further. They have managed to get a few information that are subject to a ban on publication and clear instructions not to transmit any of the documents received to the family.

The last reply from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (DFAIT) to the requests of the family was received the June 14, 2012, for a correspondence sent on November 2, 2011. However, publicly, the position of the DFAIT is clear: “We continue to engage in both cases, urging that they be resolved in a timely and transparent manner.” (Comment attributed to John Babcock of the DFAIT, published the March 10, 2012 in an article of the CBC concerning the case of Mrs. Wathelet and that of Mr. Dion). It seems that no further comment is necessary. In other cases exposed on this site, the Conservative Government has demonstrated its ability to truly help the Canadian citizens in difficulty abroad.

On the conservative side, there is also an Honorable Senator defending in principle the rights of victims. The members of the family of Mrs. Wathelet had the chance to meet him on two occasions. Following the second meeting clearly outlining the face requests in Ottawa as well as the physical evidence demonstrating the possible involvement of a third person; the family has received this from his office: “We want to make recommendations to the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade on the improvements to be made to Canadians abroad in regard to the access to information available on the current Web site.”

Defending his beliefs seems to have its limits, especially when it would be to call into question those who we have put in place. This might also not be that surprising coming from a party which advocates in its election platform a discrimination of the victims of crimes by proposing specific measures for parents whose children are murdered or have disappeared. Kind of like if they were trying to determine that which limb would be the worst case when amputated. In any case it’s an amputation, does one really have to try to discriminate on the suffering and aftermath?

Ms. Wathelet was a resident of Outremont. Mr. Mulcair was already elected when she was assassinated. She has even been taken in photo with him and Jack Layton. In addition to being a citizen of his constituency, she was an elector. The office of Mr. Mulcair, as well as the other members of the NDP which have been approaches to help the family in its battle with Ottawa to receive the same treatment as other Canadians who have lived through similar situations, have remained silent. The Bloc Quebecois has at least made the effort to write a letter to the DFAIT on behalf of the family. Although this letter was very useless in its content, the form has at least had the beauty of let the illusion that the elect are in the service of the citizen.

Only, the federal Liberals have made concrete and productive efforts to help the family. Three different members have contributed to a few victory of the family. The family was of the most surprise of this observation, especially in regard of the orange wave of the NDP which has swept the Quebec in 2011.

Another surprise was the role of the federal Ombudsman for Victims of crimes. After several months, the cat is out of the bag: the board has no power; only, the capacity to make recommendations. Just as the office of Senator stated earlier, the relationship ended by a request to the members the family to make recommendations for future victims of crime. Let us recall that the family is not recognized as a victim of crime because the crime did not happened in Canada. Therefore, the CAVAC and the other organizations to help victims can only offer a minimal moral support. As demonstrated in the present, the political class doesn’t seem touched by such events even if it is documented that the rights of the family are being violated. The rule of law remains a (theoretical) foundation of democracies such as Canada or Mexico. The bureaucracy of inertia seems established well better.

Despite all the efforts and resources deployed by the family, the mobile behind the brutal murder of Mrs. Wathelet still remains unknown. It has been demonstrated that the assassin is not afflicted with mental disorders and that his crime was premeditated.

None of the mobile theorises in the wake of the events of September 17, 2009 have been validated forensically. This is not surprising in view that the true name of the assassin was included in the preliminary report of the investigation produced in the 48 hours following the assassination. The name which would have allowed to connect him to the murder of Laura Palacios in Texas using a simple Google search. The authorities and the Mexican Medias have preferred to publish the alias name used by the assassin, until the Texas case appeared in broad daylight in November 2009.

People close to the case as well as other similar cases involving Canadians to Mexico, have stated that the purpose of the Mexican authorities is to stifle the case with the aim of protecting the tourism, the main industry of the region. After this record of 3 years, it is difficult not to give a good amount of credibility to this theory.

The question of motive is essential in view of the elements present in the folder. First of all, the new elements are venus confirm that Renée Wathelet and his murderer did not maintain an intimate relationship. The assassin was in his entourage at the most through friend(e)s common. There is also an individual who had an extra marital relationship with Ms. Wathelet, relationship to which it has terminated a few days before are murder. This individual was also a beneficiary of a bank account it has opened 23 days before that fateful day. It is also on of the photographs in the presence of the assassin of Ms. Wathelet, documents that he has requested to the family of the deceased to destroy. Finally, a call has been housed in this individual since the apartment of Mrs. Wathelet, less than an hour after his death. The call to time 9 minutes 45. The authorities have confirmed to the family that no member of the judicial personnel had done any call with Ms. Wathelet’s phone. According to the investigation log, the arrested murderer was back on the scene at the time of this call. In this individual testimony to the police, he simply replied that he had no phone when asked about this call. In the days following the murder, the family of the deceased called this individual, who stayed close to the investigation, with this very number.

Three years later, important questions remain unanswered, and as long as the individuals involved will be alive, the answers will exist.

From the family: Thank you for reading this site, thank you to all those who we have supports from near or far in the course of this nightmare. Three years ago, we learned of the worst ways the worst new in our life. This year we would like to take the opportunity to pay tribute to all those who during this difficult test we tense hand. The solidarity that came from your gestures will have been of invaluable assistance and this on all fronts. We wish to thank you from the bottom our heart for helping us keep faith in the goodness of the human kind …

  • Share/Bookmark

Leave a Reply

3 ans…

17-09-2012

Il y a trois ans jours pour jours aujourd’hui, Renée Wathelet était assassinée dans son condo de Isla Mujeres. Un meurtre particulièrement brutal et sauvage…

L’affaire est maintenant frappée d’un interdit de publication de la part des autorités mexicaines. Même la famille ne peut avoir accès aux documents relatifs à l’appel de l’assassin. Le Ministère des Affaires étrangères a informé la famille quand aux décisions judicaires, mais rien ne peut être confirmé de manière officielle. Ceci bafoue également certains droits de la famille en regard au droit mexicain. Bien que le Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international du Canada (MAECI) assure que sa priorité est que la famille soit traitée comme des nationaux mexicains, quand cela n’est pas le cas, rien n’est fait.

Depuis la sentence prononcée contre l’assassin de Renée Wathelet en décembre 2010, la famille a été incapable de rejoindre qui que ce soit dans le système judicaire mexicain pour assurer un suivi. Les autorités consulaires canadiennes au Mexique se sont aussi butées à une bureaucratie frôlant la mauvaise foi lorsqu’elles ont tenté d’assurer un suivi. Elles ont tout de même réussis à avoir quelques informations, frappées d’un interdit de publication et d’instructions claires de ne pas transmettre les documents reçus à la famille.

La dernière réponse du Ministère des affaires étrangère (MAECI) aux demandes de la famille a été reçue le 14 juin 2012, pour une correspondance envoyée le 2 novembre 2011. Toutefois, publiquement, la position du MAECI est claire: « Nous continuons notre engagement dans les deux cas, demandant qu’ils soient résolus de manière rapide et transparente… » (Commentaire attribuée à John Babcock du MAECI, paru le 10 mars 2012 dans un article de la CBC concernant le cas de Mme Wathelet et celui de Mr. Dion). Il semble qu’aucun commentaire supplémentaire ne soit nécessaire. Dans d’autres cas exposés sur ce site, le Gouvernement Conservateur a démontré sa capacité à pouvoir réellement aider des citoyens canadiens.

Du coté conservateur, il y a aussi un Honorable Sénateur défendant en principe les droits des victimes. Des membres de la famille de Mme Wathelet ont eu la chance de le rencontrer à deux reprises. Suite à la deuxième rencontre exposant clairement les demandes face à Ottawa ainsi que les évidences physiques démontrant la possible implication d’une tierce personne; la famille a reçu ceci de la part de son bureau: « Nous souhaitons faire des recommandations au ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international au sujet des améliorations à apporter aux Canadiens à l’étranger en ce qui concerne l’accès à l’information disponible sur le site Web actuel. »

Défendre ses convictions semble avoir ses limites, surtout lorsqu’il s’agirait de remettre en cause ceux qui nous ont mis en poste. Ceci qui n’est pas étonnant non plus de la part d’un parti qui prône dans sa plateforme électorale une discrimination des victimes de crimes en proposant des mesures spécifiques pour les parents dont les enfants sont assassinés ou disparus. C’est un peu comme si on tentait de déterminer qu’il est plus handicapant d’être amputer d’un bras que d’une jambe. Dans les deux cas, il s’agit d’une amputation; où est le besoin de discriminer le niveau de souffrance et de perte de jouissance de la vie?

Mme Wathelet était une résidente d’Outremont. Mr. Mulcair était déjà élu lors de son assassinat. Elle a même été prise en photo avec lui et feu Jack Layton. En plus d’être une citoyenne de son compté, c’était une électrice. Le bureau de Mr. Mulcair, ainsi que les autres membres du NPD qui ont été approchés pour aider la famille dans son combat avec Ottawa pour recevoir le même traitement que d’autres Canadiens ayant vécu des situations similaires, sont restés muets. Le Bloc Québécois a au moins fait l’effort d’écrire une lettre au MAECI au nom de la famille. Bien que cette lettre était fort inutile dans son contenu, la forme a au moins eu la beauté de laisser l’illusion que les élus sont au service du citoyen.

Seuls, les libéraux fédéraux ont fait des efforts concrets et productifs pour aider la famille. Trois différents députés ont contribué aux quelques victoire de la famille. La famille fut des plus surprise de ce constat, surtout devant la vague orange du NPD qui a balayé le Québec.

Une autre surprise fut le rôle de l’Ombudsman fédéral pour les victimes de crimes. Après plusieurs mois, le chat est sorti du sac : le bureau n’a aucun pouvoir. Seule, la capacité de faire des recommandations. Tout comme le bureau du Sénateur énoncé précédemment, la relation s’est soldée par une demande aux membres la famille de formuler des recommandations pour les futures victimes de crime. Rappelons que la famille n’est pas reconnue comme étant victime de crime car le crime ne s’est pas produit au Canada. Donc, le CAVAC et les autres organismes d’aide aux victimes ne peuvent offrir qu’un support moral minimal. Tel que démontré dans la présente, la classe politique ne s’insurge généralement pas de tel « fait divers » même si il est documenté que les droits de la famille sont bafoués. La règle de droit reste un fondement (théorique) des démocraties tel le Canada ou le Mexique. La bureaucratie d’inerte semble un fondement beaucoup mieux implanté.

Malgré tout les efforts et ressources déployés par la famille, le mobile derrière le meurtre sauvage de Mme Wathelet reste toujours inconnu. Il a été démontré que l’assassin n’est pas affligé de troubles mentaux et que son crime était prémédité. Bien qu’il ait aussi tué sa propre mère au Texas quelques semaine avant de tuer Mme Wathelet, les modes opératoires n’étaient pas les mêmes (11 coup de marteau et incendie du corps vs lacération profonde du coup suivis de 42 coups de couteau principalement au cou, quasi décapitation, et au dos).

Aucun des mobiles théorisés dans la foulée des événements du 17 septembre 2009 n’a pu être validé. Ceci n’a rien de surprenant en vue que le vrai nom de l’assassin figurait dans le rapport d’enquête préliminaire produit dans les 48 heures suivant l’assassinat. Ce nom qui permettait de le lier au meurtre de Laura Palacios au Texas à l’aide d’une simple recherche Google. Les autorités et les médias mexicains ont préféré publier le nom d’emprunt de l’assassin, jusqu’à ce que le cas du Texas apparaisse en novembre 2009.

Des gens proches de l’affaire, ainsi que d’autres affaires similaires impliquant des Canadiens aux Mexique, ont déclaré que le but des autorités mexicaines est d’étouffer l’affaire dans le but de protéger le tourisme, principale industrie de la région. Après ce bilan de 3 ans, il est difficile de ne pas donner de crédibilité à cette théorie. Rappelons aussi que l’avocat de la famille de Mme Wathelet au Mexique est mort trois semaines avant la tenue du procès qui a été précipité, empêchant à la famille de se défendre de manière convenable.

La question du mobile est primordiale en vue des éléments présents au dossier. Tout d’abord, des éléments nouveaux sont venus confirmer que Renée Wathelet et son assassin n’entretenaient pas une relation intime. L’assassin était dans son entourage tout au plus à travers des ami(e)s commun. Il y a aussi un individu qui entretenait une relation extra conjugale avec Mme Wathelet, relation à laquelle elle a mis fin quelques jours avant sont assassinat. Cet individu était aussi bénéficiaire d’un compte de banque qu’elle a ouvert 23 jours avant cette date fatidique. Il figure aussi sur des photographies en présence de l’assassin de Mme Wathelet, documents qu’il a demandés à la famille de la défunte de détruire. Finalement, un appel a été logé à cet individu depuis l’appartement de Mme Wathelet, moins d’une heure après sa mort. L’appel à durée 9 minutes 45. Les autorités ont confirmé à la famille qu’aucun membre du personnel judiciaire n’a fait d’appel avec l’appareil de Mme Wathelet. Selon les minutes de l’enquête, l’assassin arrêté était de retour sur les lieux au moment de cet appel. Lorsque l’individu a fait une déposition à la police, il a simplement répondu qu’il n’a pas de téléphone. Lors de son premier séjour, la famille de la défunte appelait cet individu avec ce numéro.

Trois ans plus tard, d’importantes questions restent sans réponse, et tant que les individus impliqués seront en vie, les réponses existeront.

De la famille : merci de lire ce site, merci à tout ceux qui nous ont supporté de près ou de loin au cours de ce cauchemar. Il y a trois ans, nous apprenions de la pire manière la pire nouvelle de notre vie. Cette année nous aimerions en profiter pour rendre hommage à tous ceux qui durant cette épreuve difficile nous on tendue la main. La solidarité qui c’est écoulé de vos gestes aura été d’une aide précieuse et ce sur tout les fronts. Nous tenons à vous remercier du fond du cœur pour nous avoir aidés à garder foi en la bonté de l’être humain…

  • Share/Bookmark

Laisser un commentaire